

CoNNMO Member Meeting – Friday 8th May 2020

Alison McMillan

Alison McMillan was appointed the Commonwealth Government Department of Health's Chief Nursing and Midwifery Officer in November 2019.

A Registered Nurse, Alison holds a Bachelor Degree in Education, a Master of Business Administration and in 2009 received a National Emergency Medal in recognition of service following the Victorian Bushfires.

As the Commonwealth Chief Nursing and Midwifery Officer, Alison delivers high-level policy advice to the Minister for Health, the Executive and staff within the Department of Health and represents the Department at national and international levels.

Alison's experience spans more than 30 years across the Victorian and English public health systems. She is an experienced manager having held senior executive roles in government and health services including as Chief Nursing and Midwifery Officer in Victoria where she made a major contribution to the work to improve the recognition of, and response to, clinical deterioration as the Chair of the Commission for Safety and Quality in Health Care's Steering Committee on the deteriorating patient for 5 years.

Alison's commitment and contributions to advancing community health outcomes includes her activities abroad as Deputy Team Leader, Australian Foreign Medical Team in Banda Aceh, Indonesia in 2005 following the Indian Ocean Tsunami, Nurse and Midwifery Team Leader for the Australian Medical Assistance Team deployment to Vanuatu following cyclone Pam in 2015 and advisor to the Ministry for Health Fiji on behalf of the Australian Government following Cyclone Winston in 2016.

Petrina Halloran

Petrina Halloran is the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency Policy Manager for the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia. In this role she develops the policies, standard and guidelines for the regulation of nurses and midwives. Petrina has held a number of senior management and policy roles over the past 15 years and has previously worked for the Department of Human Services Nurse Policy Branch and the Nurses Board of Victoria.

Petrina held an executive management role at the Nurses Board of Victoria and has extensive experience in the regulation of nurses and midwives at both a state based and National level.

Prior to moving in the exciting world of policy Petrina was a Nurse Unit Manager at a large public hospital in Melbourne

Fiona Stoker

Fiona is the Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Nursing and Midwifery Accreditation Council and has held this position since November 2014.

Prior to this Fiona was the Chief Nurse and Midwifery Officer for the Department of Health and Human Services in Tasmania for over ten years. Fiona has a broad range of nursing experience in Australia and the UK working within the Acute Care and Community environments. Fiona has also undertaken work in associated health care environments in Tasmania including Correctional Health and Youth Justice. Fiona has also been a member of several National Committees and Boards and is currently a Clinical Professor at the University of Tasmania.

Angela Ryan

Angela is the Australian Digital Health Agency's Chief Clinical Information Officer.

Angela has 30 years' experience in Hospitals and Public Sector Organisations, with more than a decade's experience as a paediatric and adult intensive care Nurse.

Angela is a Fellow of the Australasian Institute of Digital Health and is a founding Vice Chair of the Institute.

In 2017 Angela was awarded a Churchill Fellowship to study methods to prevent patient harm through national digital health safety governance and travelled to the UK, USA and Canada as part of the research. She published her report in July last year and is using this to inform policy at a state and federal level.'



Marion Eckert

Marion is the Foundation Director of the Rosemary Bryant AO Research Centre (RBRC). The centre was established as a partnership with the Rosemary Bryant Foundation and the School of Nursing & Midwifery, University of South Australia in 2016.

The RBRC aims to strengthen the nursing & midwifery workforce across the health system through the support, development and translation of evidence into healthcare to improve the health of our community.

Marion is also the inaugural Professor of Cancer Nursing in SA.

Her research is focused on improving quality of life for survivors of cancer and research translation. Marion brings more than 30 years' experience in health care, has a strong clinical academic background, and has worked in various roles including executive positions in South Australia. She has completed a Master of Public Health, Doctorate of Nursing, Master of Clinical Science, University of Adelaide, executive leadership program from Melbourne Business School and both Diploma of Education and Training and Assessment.

Marion has won peer reviewed excellence awards for her clinical leadership and was a recipient of a 2015 Winston Churchill Fellowship, awarded for her dedication towards cancer survivorship research. In 2020 she was a finalist in the SA Telstra Business Women's Awards.

Marion's goal is to embed evidence-based health systems, translational research that supports clinical practice and policy to ensure that the role of the nurse and midwife in health care is integral to best practice and results in the development of clinical academic leaders.

Dr Rosemary Bryant AO

Rosemary Bryant was the first Commonwealth Chief Nurse and Midwifery Officer during the period July 2008 and June 2015. She was formerly Executive Director of Royal College of Nursing, Australia, a position she held for eight years.

She has had a broad career in acute hospital and community nursing management, as well as in government relations, advocacy and policy development and implementation. For example, she led the implementation of the policy to grant access to the Medical Benefits Schedule and the Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme by nurse practitioners and eligible midwives.

Rosemary is a Distinguished Life Fellow of the Australian College of Nursing, holds Honorary Life Membership of the Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation (SA Branch), is Emerita Director of Nursing at Royal Adelaide Hospital and was President of the International Council of Nurses from 2009 to 2013.

She chairs the Steering Committee of the Rosemary Bryant AO Research Centre and the Rosemary Bryant Foundation and is a member of the Board of the National Prescribing Service MedicineWise.

She was awarded the degree of Doctor of the University (Honoris Causa) by Queensland University of Technology in 2010, Flinders University in 2012, and by the University of South Australia in 2019; the degree of Doctor of Health Sciences (Honoris Causa) by the University of Technology Sydney in 2015; and the degree of Doctor of Nursing (Honoris Causa) by Edith Cowan University in 2018.

In June 2014 Rosemary was made an Officer of the Order of Australia.

Andrew Cashin

Andrew is Professor of Autism and Intellectual Disability at Southern Cross University. He is based on the Lismore campus. Andrew is an Honorary Professor at Sydney University. He is a fellow of the Australian College of Nurse Practitioners, Australian College of Mental Health Nurses and Australian College of Nursing. He conducts a clinic for people with autism weekly in the SCU Health Clinic as a Mental Health Nurse Practitioner. Andrew is co-leading the NDIS funded project Building the capacity of nurses to deliver mainstream hospital and community based health services to people with Intellectual Disability and Autism Spectrum Disorder with Associate Professor Nathan Wilson from Western Sydney University.